International Hoops

Preview: Spain vs Finland – BallinEuropeBallinEurope

Preview: Spain vs Finland - BallinEuropeBallinEurope

The quarter finals of EuroBasket 2022 are here and the action gets under way on Tuesday as Finland look to keep the dream alive against perennial contenders Spain

All games from now on are at the Mercedes-Benz Arena in Berlin, Germany

When?
17.15 CEST, 16.15 BST, 11.15 EST, 08.15 PST

How they got here
Spain (5-1) suffered their lone loss of the competition at the hands of Belgium but didn’t really impress through their group wins over Turkey, Montenegro, Georgia, and Bulgaria, until their last 16 game win over Lithuania where coach Sergio Scariolo called a brilliant game from the sideline.

Finland (4-2) overcame a stubborn challenge from Croatia in the last 16 to get here following victories over Poland, Netherlands, and Czech Republic with defeats to Israel and Serbia..

Need to know
Talk about a clash of context. Spain are playing in their 21st consecutive quarter final at EuroBasket, having last failed to reach this stage in 1977. Finland, by contrast, are in the last 8 for the first time since 1967. Spain have won the championship three times, all since 2009, and have medalled at 12 editions of EuroBasket in total including all of the last six tournaments. Finland have never done better than that sixth place finish (Finnish?) in 1967.

Yet there’s a lot of reason to believe Finland can pull this one off. In Lauri Markkanen they have a generational talent who has transformed Finnish basketball and has proven a threat in every aspect of the game. He went for 43 points and 9 rebounds in that win over Croatia and, crucially, had no turnovers. In Sasu Salin and Edon Maxhuni they have good alternative shooting options to take some of the pressure off him. This means that while they ride or die with Lauri, simply shutting him down won’t be sufficient for Spain.

Spain brought in arguably their weakest roster to EuroBasket this century and certainly the side with the lowest expectations coming into this competition in a long time. There’s no single superstar they lean on but Scariolo has turned that to his advantage and ensured there’s no single point of failure either. Simply shutting down Lorenzo Brown won’t be enough for Finland to take the W in this one. Spain has many ways to hurt the Finns.

BallinEurope is ramping up its YouTube game this season. Subscribe to our channel now for player exclusives, analysis videos, and much more.

Miscellaneous extras
None of the teams that own wins over either of these sides are still in the…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at BallinEurope…