International Hoops

EuroBasket GotD – Lithuania vs Bosnia

EuroBasket GotD - Lithuania vs Bosnia

Every day throughout the group phase of EuroBasket 2022, we’ll select our game of the day that is a must-watch for all basketball fans. For Day 7, it’s a win of goodbye game as Lithuania take on Bosnia and Herzegovina.

The Game
Lithuania vs Bosnia and Herzegovina, Group B

Where?
Lanxess Arena, Cologne, Germany

When?
14.30 CEST, 13.30 BST, 08.30 EST, 05.30 PST

Why this game?
The full six game slate today is pretty impressive as all six matter for knockout qualification seeding at the start of the day while only Hungary vs Germany has a chance of not mattering at the time of tip off.

All that being said, there was only ever one call here and Lithuania’s last chance saloon battle with Bosnia is definitely it. France’s win over Bosnia on Tuesday kept Lithuania in the tournament and now it’s a simple winner take all to progress. Tie breakers mean Lithuania can’t finish higher than fourth but Bosnia, with their W over Slovenia have an outside shot at second or third place.

This was always seen as the craziest group going into the tournament and it promises to finish in a similar manner.

BallinEurope is ramping up its YouTube game this season. Subscribe to our channel now for player exclusives, analysis videos, and much more.

What do the bookies say?
Lithuania are surprisingly strong favourites at 7/25 while Bosnia are available at 13/4. The point spread is also wider than I expected, at -8.5 in favour of Lithuania.

What do we say?
Lithuania have three close losses on their docket and their lone win is over last placed Hungary. Bosnia beat Hungary on the opening day and also shocked Slovenia in a fiery Balkan derby. Lithuania also know all too well about going into games against teams from that part of the world as favourites only to come out with a rotten result, as 2011 EuroBasket showed.

The spread here, to me, is absolutely nuts and that makes my pick awfully easy.

The pick
Bosnia to cover the -8.5 point spread but I’m backing Lithuania to sneak home.
Current pick record: 10-5 straight up and 8-7 ATS

Emmet Ryan


Powered by

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at BallinEurope…